You are here
Home > Events > Uttarakhand Mountain Bike Race to flag off from Nainital

Uttarakhand Mountain Bike Race to flag off from Nainital

An international level mountain bike race is being organized by the Uttarakhand Tourism Department for the promotion of the state tourism. It has become an annual event. This time it is the eighth Himalayan MTB championship. Cyclists around the world participate in the race every year in large numbers. This year for the 8th Himalayan MTB championship the organizers received more than a hundred entries from innumerable countries. However, as the race is a three-day long event, the participants were shortlisted to half of the original number. The number of entries for the Himalayan MTB championship has been increasing every year. It was started with the aim of promoting adventure tourism in the state. Uttarakhand has a diverse terrain from rocky mountains to steep valleys. Hence, there is a huge scope for adventure tourism in the state to add to the state income.

The cyclists will have to cover a distance of around 884 km to complete the mountain bike championship. The off-road track will pass from Pithoragarh, Guptkashi, Bhageshwar, and Tehri. The race track will also include regions of Karanprayag and Chinyliasaur. The cyclists will ride in the hilly terrain of the Himalayas. It requires an extensive stamina to cycle in mountains in conditions of low oxygen. Thus, only professional cyclists aspire for the Himalayan MTB championship. The race will begin from Nainital on 8th April, Saturday 2017. After completing a three-day long arduous journey the cyclists will reach Mussoorie as the final destination. The race will conclude on 16th April 2017 at Mussoorie. The award ceremony of the Himalayan MTB championship will also be held at Mussoorie.

Cyclists from over 16 different countries are going to be a part of the internationally renowned Himalayan MTB championship. Vivek Chauhan, Joint Director of Tourism department of the state had addressed media about the Himalayan MTB championship.



Similar Articles