There are many notable leaders like Hemwati NandanBahuguna, Pundit Govind Bhallabh Pant, and Narayan Dutt Tiwari emerged from the sacred soil of Uttarakhand. Below are the 5 powerful Uttarakhand born politicians in the current era, who are among the front row politicians in Uttar Pradesh and play an important role in the political battle of Uttar Pradesh.

1. Mahant Yogi Adityanath

YogiAdityanathHis original name is Ajay Singh Bisht but he is popularly known as Yogi Adityanath,  was born in a Garhwali Rajput family on 5thJune 1972 in the Pauri district of Uttarakhand. He is a powerful Indian Politicians and a priest. He is a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Member of Parliament who has represented Gorakhpur in the Lok Sabha (lower house of the Indian Parliament) since 1998. Adityanath is the Mahant (head priest of the Gorakhnath Mutt), a Hindu temple in Gorakhpur, following the death of his spiritual "father," Mahant Avaidyanath in September 2014. He is also the founder of the Hindu YuvaVahini, a social, cultural and nationalist group of youth who seek to provide a rightist Hindu platform. He holds a B. Sc. degree from the H.N.B. Garhwal University in Srinagar, Uttarakhand.


2. Murli Manohar Joshi

MurliManoharJoshiMurli Manohar Joshi was born on 5th January 1934 in the Nainital District of Uttarakhand. He is a top level BJP MP from Kanpur. Joshi had his early education in Chandpur, District Bijnore, and Almora. He completed his Bachelor's from Meerut College and completed his Masters and doctorate from Allahabad University. Joshi came in contact with the RSS in Delhi at a young age and took part in the Cow Protection Movement in 1953–54 and in the KumbhKisan Andolan of UP in 1955. During the Emergency period (1975–1977) in India, Joshi was in jail from 26 June 1975 until the Lok Sabha elections in 1977. He was elected Member of Parliament from Almora. When the Janata Party came to power forming the first non-Congress government in Indian history, Joshi was elected General Secretary of the Janata Parliamentary Party. Later, when BJP formed a government in India under Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Joshi served as the Human Resource Development Minister in the cabinet.


3. Rita Bahuguna Joshi   

RitaBahugunaJoshiRita Bahuguna Joshi was born on 22nd July 1949 in a Brahmin family of Uttarakhand. She is the daughter of Hemwati NandanBahuguna, a former Chief Minister of the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. She holds MA and a Ph.D. in History and is a professor in Medieval and Modern History at the University of Allahabad. She is also a recipient of a United Nations Award of Excellence as being among the "Most Distinguished Women in South Asia". She is an MLA from Lucknow Cantt constituency of the state of Uttar Pradesh. She was the president of the Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee from 2007 to 2012. Rita Bahuguna Joshi is married to P C Joshi and has a son. She has two brothers, Vijay Bahuguna who was the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand and Shekhar Bahuguna who had contested in the 2012 assembly election, but could not succeed from Phaphamau constituency in Allahabad, UP.


4. Dimple Yadav         

DimpleYadavDimple was born in 1978 to retired Indian Army Col. SC Rawat in Almora district of Uttarakhand in a Kumauni Rajput family. She was educated in Pune, Bhatinda and Andaman and Nicobar Island. She graduated in commerce from Lucknow University. At an age of 21 years, she married AkhileshYadav, the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. She was elected unopposed from the Kannauj constituency to the Lok Sabha in 2012 after her husband caused by-election by vacating the seat to enter the Uttar Pradesh legislative council. Dimple became the 44th person in the country and only the fourth in UP since Independence to be elected unopposed. She became the only woman MP whose husband was Chief Minister, and also one whose father-in-law was also a member of the same House.


5. Aparna Bisht Yadav

AparnaBishtYadavThe maiden name of Aparna Bisht Yadav is Aparna Bisht. She is the daughter of highly acclaimed journalist and the chief of the Lucknow bureau of the Times of India, Mrs. Arvind Singh Bisht. She started her schooling education from a prominent school in Lucknow. Aparna has done her masters in International relations. She is widely regarded as the most eligible next generation politician of Samajwadi Party. She never hesitates in taking a stand which she considers as right and just. Like Dimple Yadav, Akhilesh’ wife, she is basically a from a Pahari family of Uttarakhand. However, as a matter of fact, she has not taken the primary membership of Samajwadi Party. Unlike Dimple, who despite being a modern and highly educated girl has chosen to remain in the Lakshman Rekha drawn by Mulayam Singh Yadav, Aparna is going ahead and doing stuff on her own will.




Comments are closed.